IOE12, MOOCs and Vegetarianism

I’ve been writing this blog for quite a while now (3 years 4 months) and recently I’ve struggled a little with content. During the blog’s life I’ve covered many of the challenges related to remote working and, although issues still arise, for me remote working has become almost too normal to blog about. It’s a little like being a vegetarian – which I am – when you become one you talk about it a lot (the why, the how, the challenges, the opportunities), but over the years it’s just the way you live your life. Sometimes you just need a new angle, or maybe a new recipe. For a while I’ve tried out the ‘amplified event recipe’ and have posted about relevant tools and practices. As it is new year I’d like to try out something different…

I’m going to give online learning a go.

The Introduction to Openness in Education course #ioe12 is what is know as a Massively Open Online Course or MOOC. The Educause paper 7 Things you should know about MOOCs provides an excellent introduction to the concept but to summarise:

A massively open online course (MOOC) is a model for delivering learning content online to virtually any person—with no limit on attendance—who wants to take the course.

I’ve decided that I am going to participate in the Introduction to Openness in Education MOOC and blog about 1) what I learn and 2) my experience in taking part on the course. My plan is to take this course outside of work time and to write a blog post on each of the topic areas:

  • Open Licensing
  • Open Source
  • Open Content
  • Open CourseWare
  • Open Educational Resources
  • Open Access
  • Open Science
  • Open Data
  • Open Teaching
  • Open Assessment
  • Open Business Models
  • Open Policy

I know a little about most of the topics areas already but I’m hoping that the course will allow me to find out more about them and also clarify how I actually feel about openness in education. I’m also hoping that being open about what I’m doing will encourage me to complete all the topics and earn, at the very least, an OpenEd Overview (Novice level) badge. I think a few of my colleagues from the University of Bath are also going to attempt the course so there should be a support network there for me too.

To get started I have signed up to the participants page and intend to start working my way through the course as soon as possible. I’m not sure how long it will take, I’ll just have to give it a go.

I’ll still be writing about my usual topics but hopefully this approach will add some much needed freshness to this blog!

2 thoughts on “IOE12, MOOCs and Vegetarianism

  1. Moocs strike me as being a great idea and I’m looking forward to hearing how you get on. I’d be concerned that I couldn’t do all the work, though maybe that doesn’t matter!

    Clare

  2. Good luck with it, hope you enjoy it. I’m currently doing an OU course and the support has all been online, though the content isn’t. So far I have learned that my attitude to deadlines hasn’t changed, I seem to view them as a game of grandmother’s footsteps (how close can I get to it without being bitten?) and self-motivation is a wonderful character trait I could do with.
    I’m also very intrigued by online learning and online support for both personal and profesional reasons, will be reading with interest🙂

Comments are closed.