Is Copenhagen our last chance?

The next few weeks could potentially be the most important in our planet’s history. Today is the first day of the two-week UN climate summit in Copenhagen. Delegates from 192 countries around the world have come together to work on a global framework on carbon emissions which will eventually replace the Kyoto Protocol. As Danish Prime Minister Lars Loekke Rasmussen puts it, this is an “opportunity the world cannot afford to miss“.

I’d say I’m a fairly opinionated person and throughout my youth was a quite an activist, I regularly attended animal-rights rallies, political meet-ups and went on anti-BNP marches. If there was an opportunity to shout about something I believed in I was there. So now I’ve grown up and have children of my own. I’m a busy working mum with lots on my plate, going out demonstrating is something I felt I’d left behind. However recent times have shown us that there if we don’t change the way we work as a planet we are in serious trouble. Now is not the time for apathy.

I’m not going to argue about the statistics, others are quite capable of doing that. Whatever the finer details the problem is clear. Today our route to school took us by flooded fields aplenty. Not a strange sight for today’s kids, heavy rain is pretty normal these days. We don’t really know what effects climate change will have on us but isn’t it obvious that we can’t keep on beating up the world we live in?

This weekend I attended The Wave march (organised by Stop Climate Chaos) in central London. I’ve never seen so many people together, working towards a common goal (estimates range from 30,000 to 50,000 people – I’d definitely go for the later!). The march was amazing, through strangely quiet and subdued. People were very focused, there was a real recognition that this is not just fun, something has to be done. What is happening is scary stuff. I’m really frightened about what sort of world my children will grow up in.

I’m far from perfect when it comes to being green but I want to do more. If we stop looking away and we start working together I really think this could be the turning point.

Why not have a look at:

One thought on “Is Copenhagen our last chance?

Comments are closed.