The air here has no Internet in it

The Saturday Guardian is my only weekly newspaper treat. I really enjoy Tim Dowling’s column. His art is in making readers feel that they aren’t ‘mucking it up’ nearly as much as he is! Being a writer means that Tim is one of us, a remote worker (or a portable breadwinner as he puts it). This week’s instalment had Tim on holiday with his family but still trying to work.

My wife goes off to see their cottage while I stay behind to establish an internet connection so I can start work. I try every gadget in my sack of dongles and wires. Nothing works. The air here has no internet in it. I end up standing on a dresser while holding my laptop out of the bedroom window, thinking about the many different places I have travelled to in order to work from: the field in Cornwall where I found a faint mobile signal, the hotel lobby in Slovakia, the Turkish internet cafe, the services on the M5.

Tim’s frustration brought a smile to my lips. It just isn’t possible to always be connected!

On our recent holiday, being dongleless, my husband had to make many trips to the local Conservative club just to get a wifi connection. I threatened to take a photo of him leaving the building to send to his friends!
😉

For most of us being constantly connected isn’t always easy (and not always desirable). There continue to be not-spots for our phones and laptops and maybe sometimes we should be grateful for that. After all a holiday should be a holiday!

After a surreal experience walking round the seaside town he’s in Tim starts to wonder:

Has the whole of Shepherd’s Bush decamped here in order to experience substandard Wi-Fi provision? What’s relaxing about that?

Exactly…

2 thoughts on “The air here has no Internet in it

  1. I do try and search out Internet connections while on holiday but it certainly isn’t for work purposes. I blog a photo every day at Blipfoto and it’s nicer to do so every day rather than wait until I get back and then back-blip them.

    PS. My family moan just as much about this as they used to about me working from home. Basically, I need to take up knitting!

  2. I’ve been reasonably fortunate when travelling in the UK, and have found that T-Mobile’s 3G coverage reaches places you wouldn’t normally expect (the Gower peninsula in south Wales, for one).

    However, it becomes more of an issue for me on the rare occasions when we go abroad, and “all you can eat” data suddenly becomes “£1.50 per Mb” data. We went to Madeira for a week earlier this year, and although 3G network coverage is practically island-wide there, it still cost a packet (pun intended), and the hotel charged a few euros for their WiFi. Calheta Marina has a great free WiFi hotspot, but my Nokia N95 and the connection didn’t always get along, so I had to content myself with “guerrilla” Twitter updates on 3G, and praying for the Marina WiFi to play nicely…

    Ah, maybe I should’ve just gone and enjoyed the holiday without connectivity🙂

Comments are closed.