Visualising your Work Network

I’ve just had a go with the LinkedIn Labs InMap. The service allows you to create a visual map of your LinkedIn connections and label the groups. The map is stored and you can revisit it later on to see how your professional worlds are evolving. My map is available online and you can zoom in and see my the details of my network.

LinkenIn map

It’s really interesting to see how the groups you are part of fit together and the core people that join those groups (connectors). A lot of my network is built around Brian Kelly – no big surprise as he was my line manager for over 11 years.

The groups themselves seemed to divided up into:

  • Jisc (and related) people – Jisc Programme managers, people who work for Jisc services etc.
  • Web manager people – people I’ve met through the IWMW community
  • UKOLN and RDM people – colleagues from UKOLN and the Digital Curation Centre (DCC), other research data management people/li>
  • Library people
  • BL and IMPACT project people – people I met while working on the EU IMPACT project, quite a few British Library people
  • e-learning people – mainly from the University of Bath
  • Friends – some of who have some slight connection to work areas, most of who don’t – I don’t usually make a point of adding friends to LinkedIn
  • Local people – mainly people I met while living in Melksham and volunteering on environmental projects

It will be interesting to see how my network changes over time. I have never actively tried to develop my LinkedIn profile, I just accept requests when they come in. It would also be interesting to see if I could influence the network, or try to create new groups. Anyway all good stuff to while away an hour or two! ;-)

Leave a Reply

